Countdown to Katahdin…

The trip to Maine, Baxter State Park, and the summit of Mt. Katahdin isn’t far away now. The rough path we’re taking is this – just about 11 miles through the park, starting at Roaring Brook campground and rounding out at the Basin Ponds. It’s going to be a long weekend with what I hope to be a great outcome.

The gear outfitting is nearly complete, with the hardest stuff already obtained. I should have my boots my mid week, so I’ll be able to start breaking them in to make sure they’re ready. I ended up getting a pair of La Sportiva Makalu boots. Their reviews on-line are a little mixed but trend toward the positive. Experience and words of wisdom from a close friend have taught me that on-line reviews from strangers have to be taken with a grain of salt (to simply the point, at least), and something as subjective as the fit and experience with a pair of boots makes it even more important.

I just need a pack and some clothing items and it’ll be good to go.

Planned Route through Baxter and up Mt. Katahdin

 

One thought on “Countdown to Katahdin…

  1. Pingback: Time to Mt. Katahdin: 5 days « Atop the Rox

Leave a Reply

