Mt. Adams looming in the (not so very far) distance

Less than one week out from my first alpine climb I can say that nerves and fear have taken their rightful place among the excitement and anticipation that comes with the planned ascent of a 12,300ft snow and ice clad volcano. 

Final communications with the trip organizer occurred yesterday; we have our guide’s name and contact information, meeting instructions, etc. 

Gear is all in hand (including a new altimeter watch that was a last second purchase that I wanted to avoid), and I’ve made sure everything is good to go. I’ve also been told that I should get pretty decent cell service up on the mountain and relatively close to the summit. I plan to try and doing a few “live” updates depending on the situation once we’re on the mountain. 

I’ll start packing this weekend and making sure all is set before Wednesday’s departure. 

One thought on “Mt. Adams looming in the (not so very far) distance

Leave a Reply

